So let’s start at the beginning….

You all don’t want to hear how I got to be 200 lbs — do you? To make a long story short, there were fertility drugs and pregnancy losses in there and just plain eating crummy.  I have a blog about the life after pregnancy losses, but here I want to focus on other stuff.

So, one day in April 2010 I went to a seminar about weight loss surgery and the rest is history.  I had to do a 6 month medically supervised diet that turned into like 10 months of jumping through hoops with my HMO.  I swear they wanted me to fail so that they wouldn’t have to pay for it.  Finally, on January 25, 2011 I had surgery on a freezing cold day.  Our furnace died like 2 days before and we bought heaters at Walmart to keep our pipes from freezing.

I went in on a Tuesday morning and by Thursday afternoon (in a blizzard) I was home resting with my Vicodin and the furnace guys. On Saturday morning, the visiting nurse pulled out my drain & I felt a ton better.  By Monday and Tuesday I was rolling around town in my little Jeep buying more yogurt.

And that was the beginning.  It was freezing cold, I could eat about half a yogurt at one sitting, and I was already down to about 180.

(This is a picture of me just before surgery all high and shit. Am I flashing gang signs? I have no idea.)

shot_1295974549567

Leave a Reply

