Can’t we all just get along?

I pride myself on kind of being a fringe person in the Weight Loss Surgery scene.  Switzerlandy. I keep my thoughts to myself for the most part and I am not one to stir up drama.  I have to say, though, when the drama starts to hurt everyone on all sides, I feel like saying something.

And of course, no we all can’t get along.  That would be ideal, but I know that people have been hurt on all sides of this argument. What I hope, though, is that our community as a whole can go back to some semblance of normal.  It is not WE and THEY.  It is not THEM and US.  It’s US.  It’s the women (and a few men) who know what it is like to have a broken spirit because we are discriminated against in a store.  It’s not speaking up when someone skinnier cuts in front of us.  It’s how we felt when we got the stares if we were riding one of those little motorized scooter things.

I see those people now and I want to go up and hug them. I see the chubby women who smile at me in a store and desperately want my skinny self to smile back and give them approval.  I am on THIS side of obesity now but for years I was on the OTHER less desirable side and I know how it feels.  I never want to be the cause of someone feeling a little crappier about herself.

I don’t know how to solve all of this because I don’t really know what all is going on.  But ladies, can we have a kumbaya group hug and have a ceasefire for a few days? One of my Facebook friends is having a brain tumor removed today and my aunt Jackie is having her first round of chemo for her ovarian cancer today.  In the grand scheme of things, that stuff is like WOW crazy important stuff. And not that anyone else’s stuff is not important.  I’m just tired of the hurt feelings.

Kumbaya ladies, kumbaya.  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

